Musical Genius: The Avett Brothers

The Avett Brothers is one of the greatest bands of our time. They are straightforward and to the point. Their passionate lyrics are amazing…but then you have that awesome bluegrassy sound. Is there anything cooler than a banjo? Is there? Besides a mandolin?! Probably not. Scott Avett probably can play the mandolin in his sleep.

In any case. One of my dear friends [and part owner of this blog…] says she has never heard an Avett Brothers song, although she is a big Mumford and Sons fan. I say if you love some Mumford, you’ll love love some Avett.

Here’s a little playlist of my favorite Avett Brothers songs:

Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise           

If Its The Beaches

The Ballad of Love and Hate

Paranoia in B♭ Major

Salina

Laundry Room

I Would Be Sad

Kick Drum Heart

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Musical Genius: The Avett Brothers

  1. I second the above comment! These boys got what it takes. I believe I saw them at Austin City limits a few years ago (2009?) and my heart was in this sad sort of place. ‘I and Love and You’ spoke volumes to me then and still moves me with its simplicity and honesty. What a band with substance, where the (pop culture) musical landscape greatly lacks.

Leave a Reply

