How a viewing of Bridesmaids made me think I am psychic

Sometimes life really is just like the movies.

On Friday, May 11, 2012, I was at my parent’s house during a break between the spring and summer grad school semesters. We were doing the Mother’s Day festivities that night, since my brother and I were going to be traveling back to school and work locations on that Sunday. It was a pretty low-key and average celebration of dinner and a movie. My mom decided she wanted to watch Bridesmaids, so the whole family gathered around to enjoy some ridiculous female behavior.

Now, keep in mind that this was during May. Most of friends are in serious relationships or were in the process of ushering in springtime love. Furthermore, every other time I would log onto Facebook, one of my “friends” were getting changing their relationship statuses or posting sonogram and engagement ring photos. My interest in becoming an engaged person is still remarkably low for a mid-20s female, I’m still not immune to cute-couple envy, which became the inspiration behind many text messages between Christa and I.

But back to watching Bridesmaids…about five minutes into it I started feeling a close kinship to Kristen Wiig. We had a lot of qualities in common—both poor, left by serious boyfriends, awkward…and of course, ridiculously funny.

Oh, but there is one more. Remember that scene when Maya Rudolph’s character invites Annie Walker over to her apartment to tell her the big news and Annie has a minor panic attack? Right, well during that scene I laughingly announced to my family, “Man, if Callee called me tomorrow and told me that her and Abel were engaged, I would likely have the same reaction.” Not because I wasn’t happy for her, but because she has been my best friend for years, thinking of her getting married would strike some fear of best friend abandonment deep down in my subconscious. Luckily I didn’t have to worry for too long about said reaction, because the next morning I woke up to realize my jokey announcement was actually a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Lillian/Callee: I’m engaged!

Annie/Alex: Oh my god what?

Lillian/Callee: He asked me last night!

Annie/Alex: Oh god, what is happening!

Did I mention that I am the maid of honor, too? God help me.

In all seriousness, I am thrilled for Callee and Abel. For someone who is stealing my best friend away from me, I still give me a glowing review. It takes a very special person to put up with the antics and wily ways of this woman and still love her unconditionally…and I’m glad someone else has joined the dark side alongside her parents and me [JK, Cal, you have tons of lovers and are as pleasant as a peach always!].

I’ve been waiting to fulfill my MOH Callee-wedding duties since a college party pre-game, where we drunkenly made a pact to be each other’s future MOHs, consecrating our deal with the closest thing we had to holy water—Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum. As I fulfill my various job requirements, I pledge to blog about the trials and tribulations of leading a pack of ragtag bridesmaids through the jungle of Wilson Phillips, giant cookies, and Irish cops.

Oh, yes, I will, just on my blog!

Let the games begin, and may the odds be ever in my favor.

 

Leave a Reply

