October 2012 Birchbox Review

I’m completing my October 2012 Birchbox review a tad late, but I am finally getting all caught up on everything that has been neglected with my NYC move. This month Birchbox gave subscribers an option to get either the regular Birchbox box or a goop.com partnership box. I had no idea what Goop was, but I opted in anyway.

In case you aren’t familiar with Birchbox, I’ll give you a little rundown. Each month a package arrives at your door. It contains about 4-5 samples of deluxe beauty products (skin care and make up) and a little something extra. The samples are usually generous and last for a few applications. If you love an item you can get onto Birchbox’s website and buy it. Each item you buy earns you some points, similar to how the Sephora rewards card works, and you can use them toward later purchases. I love samples, especially of beauty products that are on the pricier side, so if you do actually purchase something you have a good idea of whether or not you will be happy with it. Birchbox costs $10 a month or you can subscribe for the year for $110.

Illume Red Cedar Candle
Full size: $10

Birchbox says: Made with soy, beeswax, and essential oils, this candle features a warm scent that comes courtesy of red cedar and vetiver.

My thoughts: It was an interesting surprise to get a candle in my Birchbox. At first I thought that maybe it was one of those candles that melted down and then you used as a weird skin purification mask, but that wasn’t its purpose. It was a typical candle. It smelled real nice and gave my apartment that cozy, Autumn-feel…however, I was still kind of disappointed that it took place of a make up or skin care sample.

Rating: B-


Jouer Lip Enhancer
Full size: $14

Birchbox says: This best-seller gives you the moisturizing punch of a balm with the satiny finish of a gloss. We’re hooked and we know you will be, too!

My thoughts: I hate that I feel like I’m one of the only people on the planet who isn’t in love with Jouer products. While I don’t find anything distinctly negative about them, I know I have used comparable products for much lower a price. The Nivea lip moisturizers remind me a lot of this lip enhancer, but for only 1/3 of the price.

RatingB

Kiehl’s Rosa Arctica Eye
Full size: $46

Birchbox says: Conquer dark circles with this brightening eye balm, which is made with collagen-boosting flower extracts.

My thoughts: This was certainly the product I was the most excited about when I saw it in my Birchbox! I love trying out Kiehl’s products and I love trying out new eye creams, too…especially ones that target dark circles (aka, my mortal enemy). I really enjoyed this eye cream and thought it did a great job. If I didn’t just purchase the Origins gin-zing eye cream from the Birchbox shop, I would have certainly tried this out instead.

Rating: A

Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum
Full size: $20-$42

Birchbox says: Wear this award-winning brand’s silky SPF 30 serum under your makeup for a weightless UV shield.

My thoughts: When I opted in to this month’s Goop box, I didn’t have much of an idea what Goop even was. However, being the adventurous individual I am, I thought I would try it out anyway! This sunscreen wasn’t anything to write home about, especially since the sample consisted of two teeny packets of the serum. It’s too hard to tell a product’s efficacy from that small of a sample size. Plus, while I understand that sunscreen is something that should be worn year-round, and regardless of whether the sun is even shining or not, I still felt as if this was a product that would have been more seasonably appropriate for a summer month Birchbox.

Rating: C
LUNA LemonZest
Full size: Pack of 15, $18.75

Birchbox says: These zesty snacks are a goop fave. They’re perfect to keep you full in between meals (plus they can double as a healthy dessert!).

My thoughts: Oh, Birchbox and your snacks. I wasn’t terribly disappointed about finding a Lunabar in my Birchbox. It was a full size bar, which is atypical for Birchbox sample snacks. I am not too crazy about lemon flavored foods, but I love the convenience of snack bars, especially when I need breakfast on-the-go.

Want your own Birchbox? Go to http://www.birchbox.com?raf=s6h6z to sign up!

Note: I do not work for Birchbox or am affiliated with them in any way. By clicking on the link above, it works as a referral from me. My thoughts are entirely my own and do not necessarily reflect those of Birchbox.

One thought on “October 2012 Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

