Greetings from Hurricane Sandy’s Zone C, NYC

Here in New York City, on the island of Manhattan, I am having an inappropriate reaction to this impending hurricane. It’s like 1 am and I can’t stop reading Twitter updates about this ‘day after tomorrow’ situation and kind of wondering when the hell the main event will begin. Every hour or so my roommate and I have been going out onto our terrace (aka, fire escape) to check out the Zone C scene. I will say this, it’s kind of creepy to have the city be so quiet except for the occasional cab driving by or the sudden gust of wind sneaking in between the streets. I’m waiting for a Transformer to just appear between the two high rises at the end of my block before savagely destroying one with a swift flick of the wrist. Anyway. Here’s some fun iPhone photos I took today in an attempt to document the frenzy.

The line for the 86th Street Fairway, Subway closures, and East River shot all circa 2 pm-ish on Sunday

Shout out to Yorkshire Wines

It’s serious when even Barnes and Noble is shutting down

Photo taken from the terrace at approx 1 am, featuring a high-rise apartment building located in a Zone A area. Why are you still there?! Why is the elevator still running, Mr. Mayor?!

And these things are cracking me up:

  • The Hurricane Sandy Twitter account has made me ‘LOL’ more than when my coworker asked me if I was secretly Russian because my scarf made me look like a Babushka lady.

  • I’ve loved NYMag’s sarcasm-induced behavior long before I actually lived in New York and knew what the hell they were even referring to, so I’ve been enjoying their continuous updates, as well.

And that’s it! Do me a solid and pray I still have the internet tomorrow, else I might self-destruct with boredom. Cheerio!

Leave a Reply

